Free Shipping Australia wide on all orders over $120
Body Type - Expired Candy (Blue Jelly Bean Vinyl) - Pre-Order OUT 02/06

Body Type - Expired Candy (Blue Jelly Bean Vinyl) - Pre-Order OUT 02/06

Regular price $45.00 Sale

Format : Blue Jelly Bean Vinyl
Release Date : 2nd June 2023

‘Miss The World’

Following the highly acclaimed 2022 debut 'Everything Is Dangerous But Nothing's Surprising', BODY TYPE are back with their 2023 sophmore album 'Expired Candy' set for release June 2nd via Poison City

Body Type assert there's no time like the present and speaking to its imminent release, they reveal "Expired Candy is filled with hope, love, and danger, dancing with delicious uncertainty. In pursuit of joy we dreamed up songs about mothers, sisters, dogs, nans; family tantrums, forward motion, falling in love, platonic or romantic, with someone or self. Heart breaks, tooth will shatter, but she'll be there when it really matters. Flirty, feral and defiant, just how we like it. From our wild heart to yours, Body Type." 

Following recent national tours supporting Fontaines D.C and the Pixies, the first peek of Expired Candy arrives with 'Miss The World'. Born out of their time during COVID, 'Miss the World' is a pummelling lament, concerned with citizens' unquestioning compliance and the ascent of tyrants, told through pre-teen anarchists, bichon frises, and a drum beat based on a Gwen Stefani song. Acting less as a commentary on the pandemic but rather the realisations, both personal and collective that occurred during that time. Lead vocalist and guitarist, Sophie McComish shares, "Yeah, yeah, on face value this is a COVID song. But more than that, it's an ode to the realisations, personal and collective, that occurred during that time. Realisations about society, culture, values, the things that matter, the parts we play. At the end of the day, the world is totally absurd and many things make very little sense when you think about them too hard. But we gotta squeeze these little brains of ours and do the thinking, realise the realisations. Complacency is dangerous, passion is contagious.

'Miss The World' is the first taste of new music from the band since the release of their independently released, Australian Music Prize-nominated debut album 'Everything Is Dangerous But Nothing's Surprising'. Featuring tracks like 'Buoyancy' 'The Charm' and 'Sex & Rage', the 11-track record is a sharp, and invigorating listen packed with gentle contemplation and righteous fury. The praise was far and wide, from Rolling Stone, The Guardian, NME, DIY, Frankie, Clash, Dork, The Line Of Best Fit and more, as well as radio support from all corners of the country landing Feature Album across 2Ser Radio, FBi Radio,SYN FM, Edge Radio and RTR FM.

Tracklist :

  1. Holding On 
  2. Summer Forever 
  3. Weekend 
  4. Tread Overhead 
  5. Sha La La 
  6. Creation Of Man 
  7. Miss The World
  8. 8. Anti-Romancer 
  9. Beat You Up 
  10. Albion Park 
  11. Expired Candy 
  12. Dream Girls 
  13. Shake Yer Memory